Skip to content

Roasted Tomato and Vegetable Soup

May 17, 2011

So… I have been on my weight loss mission for over a week now and the results so far:  4 down, many more to go.    Of course I have been exercising and eating healthy.     Feeling muscles that I did not know exist and salads & smoothies are my best friends these days. The keys to sticking to healthy eathing are varity and creativity.  Don’t want to get bord eating same things and need to jazz dises with fresh herbs and spice.  Having said that,  I stood in front of my fridge full of colorful veggies and fruits wondering what I will have for dinner.   Looked at a carton of cherry tomatoes and wheels started turning and an idea of Roasted Tomato Soup was conceived.   I checked the crispers and found veggies that I could throw in.   What better way to warm up on this cold, rainy, and windy day than a bowl of Roasted Tomato and  Vegetable Soup?   Healthy, Satisfying, and Delicious!

Ingredients

25 Cherry Tomatoes (you can substitute about 4-5 Plum Tomatoes)

1 Medium Onion

4-6 Cloves Garlic1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil   

3 Cups of Vegetable Stock

1/3 Cup Finely Chopped Zucchini (roughly half a zucchini)

1/3 Cup Finely Chopped Celery (about 2 stalks)

¼ Cup Finely Chopped Carrots

1 Cup Chopped Kale

½ Avocados

½ Cup Black Beans

5 Leaves of Fresh Basil Thinly Sliced

½ Tsp Black Pepper

Salt to Taste

 

Method

  1.  Preheat Over  on 400 F
  2. Line baking tray with a piece of foil
  3. Wash, dry and place tomatoes on baking tray
  4. Rough Chop Onion and add to baking tray
  5. Add Cloves of Garlic to baking tray with skin on
  6. Roast Tomatoes, Onion, and Garlic for about 20 -25 minutes.
  7. Change temperature Setting to Broil and roast for 5 more minutes or until tomatoes and Onion Caramelize.  Watch closely to avoid burning.
  8. Chop all the vegetable.
  9. Once Tomatoes, Onion and Garlic are roasted,   let them cool and carefully peel Garlic skin off.
  10. Transfer it to a cooking pot with all the liquid that is released.
  11. Add, Vegetable Stock, quarter of an Avocado, and ¼ Cup Black Beans to the pot.
  12. With a hand blender, blend everything together until smooth.
  13. Turn the flame and bring it to boil. 
  14. Add Carrots, Celery and remaining Black Beans.
  15. Simmer for 20 minutes or until veggies are tender.
  16. Add Zucchini, Avocado, Basil and Kale and simmer for five more minutes.

I am trying to avoid fat calories so i did not but you can top it with cheese (Cheddar or Parmigiano Reggiano ) and Serve it with your choice of bread. 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 6:05 pm

    Congrats on the weight loss! I think a recipe like this would make it a delicious effort…

    Thanks for sharing at the hearth and soul hop last week.

  2. May 21, 2011 2:28 pm

    your recipe is too good…will surely try dear..

    Tasty Appetite
    Event: Letz Relishh Ice Creams

  3. May 19, 2011 11:09 pm

    what a fantastic soup this is ! Love it !!!

  4. May 19, 2011 5:16 pm

    Love love this kind of soup. What a nutrition packed soup. Love the ingredients you have used. Thanks for your comments. Glad I found you.

  5. May 18, 2011 10:04 pm

    I love the sound of this soup, the combination of flavors /ingredients is just perfect!

  6. May 18, 2011 8:53 pm

    I love roasted vege any time and anyway. Tomato soup is one of my non so fav soup .. find it boring most of time . But with roasted tomatoes .. i think I will love it . Will give this a try 🙂

    • May 18, 2011 10:18 pm

      I agree Kankana… that is what drove me to roast tomatoes… it really adds depth to the flavor of tomatoes.

  7. hetal permalink
    May 18, 2011 2:04 pm

    I am proud of your weightloss efforts, you go girl !!!!!!!

  8. hetal permalink
    May 18, 2011 9:59 am

    love the addition of Kale in here. ……loooks scrumptious ! nice pics as always.

  9. May 18, 2011 5:09 am

    Mmm…I can almost smell the divine aroma of the soup! Looks very lovely!

  10. May 18, 2011 1:57 am

    You lost 4 kgs in about a week Meghna…that’s super good…I too have struggled with weight issues through out my life but never been able to successfully shed it…what have you been eating to shed the weight? going to gym too ?
    This is a nice soup..really like the roasted flavours…and this is too healthy as well.

    • May 18, 2011 9:52 am

      Raji I have lost 4 lbs not kgs…. and I am with you i have always struggled with weight I lose and gain it back…I have been following Dr. Fuhrman diet. I have done that in past and lost 30 + Lbs. I like his method because it is a healthy way to lose weight… no short cuts! I have tried and have never been a fan of out of the box diets. I have been going to gym doing cardio and wieght training. Soup was indeed very flavorful.

      Thanks!

      • May 18, 2011 11:43 am

        Still 4 lbs is also a big number for me Meghna. Will check this Dr. Fuhrman diet. Along with diet exercise also helps a lot..but I have been very lazy and not finding time for gym…thanks for sharing this. I was thinking of dropping you a mail but could not find the mail ID.

      • May 18, 2011 9:42 pm

        Raji,

        sorry for about email id… I meant to post it on my page but completely slipped my mind… it is up now. i have Dr. Fuhrman’s link in my blogroll if you want to check it out. Good luck.

Leave a comment