Skip to content

Herbed White Beans Hummus

May 26, 2011

I have been following Dr Fuhrman’s diet for a few weeks now and have been enjoying healthy eating.   Today for dinner I made White Beans Hummus lettuce wraps and they were delicious.  I love hummus and can have it every day of the week but this is a great variation for a change. I love the addition of fresh herbs in this recipe.  This recipe is straight out of Dr Fuhrman’s recipe list with slight modifications.  Original recipe also calls for a Tsp of Dijon Mustard and does not include garlic. Also since I am watching my calories especially from fat I did not add olive oil to my portion.

Ingredients

1 Can 15 oz White Beans

1 Tbsp Tahini (Sesame Paste)

2 Cloves Garlic

1 Tsp Lemon Juice (or to taste)

1 Tsp Red Wine Vinegar

1 Tbsp Water

Salt to Taste

1 Tbsp Finely Chopped Basil

1 Tsp Finely Chopped Thyme

1 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Pinch or two Red Pepper Flakes  

Method

  1. Drain and rinse White Beans.  
  2. In a food processer, grind Beans, Tahini, Garlic, Lemon Juice, Red Wine Vinegar, Salt and Water to paste.
  3. Add Basil and Thyme and pulse a few times. Do not over process.  You want herbs to be visible. 
  4. Transfer it to a serving bowl and drizzle some Olive Oil on top and sprinkle Red Pepper Flakes.

Can be served as dip for veggies/pita bread or use it as spread for sandwich or wraps.  I made lettuce wraps with this hummus, some fresh veggies and a blend of wild rice.   To my surprise, they were extremely scrumptious and of course healthy!

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 11:07 am

    Just checking back in to let you know I made this yesterday and it was DELICIOUS! Thank you for providing such a wonderful recipe that you can feel good about eating. We’re having friends over next weekend and this will be the main event appetizer. Thank you!

    • June 12, 2011 11:35 pm

      Oh I am thrilled to learn that you really enjoyed it… I love getting feedbacks… Thank You !! Enjoy your visit with friends… Cheers!

  2. May 29, 2011 2:27 am

    Hi Meghna ….Thanks for your Interest in HCC, July Is OK with me. So I am Booking you for july.

  3. May 28, 2011 2:28 pm

    What a great idea~I can’t wait to try this and love the flavors you have packed in there. I just bought some whole wheat pita, which would go so well. Thank you for a wonderful recipe and a beautiful picture!

  4. May 27, 2011 10:38 pm

    I am in love with that creamy texture of your hummus ~ a great blend of flavors! The lettuce wrap is so up my alley :)
    US Masala

  5. May 27, 2011 12:24 pm

    Looks delicious…..stumbled on your blog by chance..loved it. Happy to follow you :)

  6. hetal permalink
    May 27, 2011 10:25 am

    looks yummy and making me hungry, yes keep posting healthy recipes.

  7. May 27, 2011 8:41 am

    The hummus is so smooth and lovely! Lovely colour too…

  8. May 27, 2011 3:27 am

    that is marvelous, healthy and looks delicious recipe. This is the one I look forward to eat.
    free nutrional information for your recipe

  9. May 27, 2011 12:45 am

    This healthy hummus rocks Meghna…Fresh herbs add so much more flavour. Now I will be making this next. The lettuce wrap looks scrumptious and healthy. Keep posting healthy recipes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

