Skip to content

Mango Macadamia Muffin

April 19, 2011
 
 
 

Sorry Folks… it’s been a while but I was out of town and caught flu for the fourth time this season…. So ready for summer.

Speaking of summer just the other day, I went for Indian grocery shopping, and I see tall stacks of mango boxes.  It’s not quiet summer yet at least not in NJ, and I don’t normally buy off season mango because every time I do I get disappointed.  However, these looked great so decided to try them and I am glad I did; they are so juicy and sweet and reminded me of locally grown mangos in Kauai.

 Just about last year this time, I was preparing for my trip to Kauai.  Island of Kauai is one of the most beautiful Hawaiian Islands, surrounding roaring cliffs, cascading waterfalls, plush valleys, Taro fields, and Rainbows sketched in the sky every now and then makes you feel like you are in paradise. From sun-drenched sandy beaches to Waimea Canyon and from Na Pali Cost to Hindu Monastery, breathtaking is the only way to describe Kauai. 
 
 Taro Fields
 
 
 Waimea Canyon
 
 
Na Pali Coast Line

 North Beaches

 
 

Kauai’s weather is great year around and anytime is good to visit, but I am glad I went there in June as I was able to take advantage of local farmers markets.  We looked up schedules and places of local farmers markets in Northern Island as we stayed there and visited a few.  Farmers pick organic fruits, veggies, and herbs on that very day; it doesn’t get any fresher than that.    The mangoes I had in Kauai were by far the best. Not only they were sweet, juicy and silky in texture but the punch of mango flavor you get in every bite of mango is incomparable.  

 

Farmers Market

So, Mango Macadamia Muffin is my tribute to my trip to Kauai. These are so light, fluffy, tropical, healthy, and delicious that they were gone in minutes.  I had to stop people so that I can take some pictures…  You know these are delecious if you can’t keep kids aways… :)    Anyways,  I sure plan to visit Kauai again, but until I do, this is my attempt to recreate the experience through taste buds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients

 1 and 1/ 4 cup Fresh Mango Pulp
2 Cups Whole Wheat Flour (I used Organic Whole Wheat Flour)
3 Tbsp Chopped Macadamia Nuts
4 Tbsp Shredded Sweetened Coconut
½  Cup Sugar
1 Tbsp Baking Powder ½ Tsp Salt
¼ Whole Cup Milk
¼ Cup Oil  ( I used light olive oil but vegetable, canola, or corn oil would be ok)
2 large eggs, beaten (One whole and one egg white)
1 Tbsp Pure Vanilla Extract
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 400˚F.
  2. Lightly grease 12 muffin cups or place liners in each muffin mold.
  3. Peel, dice and puree 2-3 Mangoes to get 1and ¼ cups of puree.  Number of mangos you will need will depend on the size.
  4. Rough chop Macadamia Nuts.
  5. In a mixing bowl, mix Flour, Sugar, Baking Powder, and Salt.
  6. Mix Mango Puree, Milk, Eggs, Oil and Vanilla Extract in another mixing bowl.
  7. Slowly pour liquid ingredients into dry ingredients.  Mix with a whisk as you pour.
  8. Once everything is well incorporated, add Macadamia Nuts and Shredded Coconut and fold them in without over mixing.
  9. Spoon batter into the Muffin tray. 
  10. Bake them for 30-35 minutes and check to see if the muffis have turn light pink or golden at which point do a fork/tooth pick test.  If it comes out clean you know they are done. 
  11. Take them out of the oven and let them sit for 5-10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Recipe is part of Show me Your Muffin event. 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Janki permalink
    July 20, 2011 9:52 am

    your the best cook in the Indian World

    • Janki permalink
      July 20, 2011 9:55 am

      thanks for being a nice girl

  2. Janki permalink
    July 20, 2011 9:50 am

    They are so yummy. I can feel

  3. April 30, 2011 3:08 pm

    My picture is cute with my little sister

    by Anjali Khanna

  4. April 27, 2011 11:47 am

    Just wanted to let you know that Chaya and I have featured your mango macadamia muffins at Let’s Do Brunch this week. Do hope you will visit and link up again!

    http://www.21stcenturyhousewife.com/index/Blog/Entries/2011/4/27_Lets_Do_Brunch.html

    • April 27, 2011 11:59 am

      Wow April… This is so exciting. Thanks to you and Chaya for featuring Mango Macadamia Muffins this week! I will try to link this week also.

  5. April 23, 2011 5:21 pm

    By the way, I would love it if you could also link these lovely muffins up with Let’s Do Brunch, another linky I co-host. Here is a link if you would like to join us –
    http://www.21stcenturyhousewife.com/index/Blog/Entries/2011/4/20_Entry_1.html

    • April 23, 2011 6:46 pm

      April Thanks for the invite…. I would love to link it to Let’s Do Brunch… Count me in!

  6. April 23, 2011 5:18 pm

    I’m sorry you have been ill, hope that you are feeling much better! Your photographs are just gorgeous, and thank you for sharing this delicious recipe with the Hearth and Soul blog hop. I can’t wait to get some mangoes so I can try it!

    • April 23, 2011 6:44 pm

      oohhh April Thank You so much… Hope you enjoy them as much as we did :)

  7. April 22, 2011 8:39 pm

    @ Alea Thank You and I am glad I am able to share with Hearth and Soul!!

    @ Raji you are right kid couldn’t wait especially the older one since she helped!!

    @ Hetal Thank You!

    @ Swathi Thank You!

    @ Preena You have to make it out there…It is heaven on earth!

    @ Kankana Thank You!! Feeling 100% better now.

    @Sonia Thank You! These are my sister’s daughters but they are like my own… the little one call me mama anyways :)

  8. April 22, 2011 7:37 pm

    Hi Meghna, the muffins are looking so GOOD and ur daughter is looking awesome !

  9. April 21, 2011 8:42 pm

    such yummy gorgeous looking muffin! Hope you feeling better now and stay warm :)

  10. April 21, 2011 8:57 am

    Breathtaking photos of Hawaii is right. I want to go there!

  11. April 20, 2011 6:14 pm

    These mango muffins looks delicious, your two princess are cute.

  12. hetal permalink
    April 20, 2011 12:04 pm

    yummm…. can’t wait to try. Gorgeous pics and kids -;)

  13. April 20, 2011 1:40 am

    The muffins are looking super good…breathtaking pictures…you sure had happy kids enjoying these muffins.

  14. April 20, 2011 12:48 am

    My boys love mangoes. Mango Macadamia Muffins sound divine! Thanks for sharing your recipe with the Hearth and Soul Hop

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

